It all begins with a question

craftingthemessage

By Hinda Mandell, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Go ahead. Hit me with your best question.

This “assignment” might seem a bit more difficult than it initially appears. Why? Because we don’t know each other (yet). So you might not have a basis by which to throw questions at me.

But as I tell students in my journalism classes at RIT, we have the right – as journalists, writers (and human beings) to ask people whatever we like.

We should not automatically expect, through, to receive answers. For that we have to dig, investigate, network, ask our question in a different way and file requests through official channels. (http://www.oms.nysed.gov/foil/)

I love telling students that we have the right to ask whatever we want. But more than that I love seeing them ask questions – deep, probing questions that build on the previous one. I am irked when I witness…

View original post 188 more words

Leave a Reply

